Carlos Del Moral
2 min readFeb 19, 2021

My review of Interaction Design Foundation after 5 months of learning

As a copywriter every time I read a course with the word “Design” on it, the first thing I think is “It’s not for me”. But thanks to a friend I found the Interaction Design Foundation, and not, I didn’t run. Instead of that, I’ve started to walk into a new world, the Ux design world.

User Research: Methods and Best Practices, my fourth Ux Design Course

Design Thinking, my first steps

Who would know that design is not only for designers? It may sound silly (maybe it is) but I always associated the term “design” with graphic designers, art directors, industrial designers, and the list goes on. So, when I took the Design Thinking: The Beginner’s Guide” course, the first thing I thought was DESIGN-IS-MY-JAM!

You see, as a creative copywriter, you are always thinking about new ideas, new ads, creative campaigns, or solving brands’ problems. So, the Design Thinking: The Beginner’s Guide” course gave me a deep understanding of a thought process that for the moment was unknown to me. Now I have a lot of new tools (specifically my mind) which I can use daily to create better and more creative solutions for my clients. And the best is that you can use the design thinking process in almost any profession!

How to sell online, time for a sprint

My third Ux course was “Psychology of E-Commerce: How to Sell Online”. To date, this is the most important course I ever take, because it contains a lot of psychological theories and techniques that you can apply immediately to understand the behavior of people in the digital world. And better yet, you can create more efficient online sales strategies.

I’m currently doing my fourth-course “User Research — Methods and Best Practices” to conduct better qualitative user research and create designs and campaigns more relevant to the people.

Conclusions

The Interaction Design Foundation is a great place to start if you want to discover the Ux Design world. I’m sure that in each course you’ll find a lot of interesting information that you can immediately put into practice in your work. If you don’t know where to start don’t worry, you can choose a learning path from a variety of options, in my case I chose “Marketer” with 7 different courses that will give me a better understanding of fundamental UX concepts.

I will continue my path into the Ux design world and learning more and more thanks to the Interaction Design Foundation, before jumping into the search for new career opportunities.

You should try too.

Carlos Del Moral, Creative Copywriter at Leo Burnett Ecuador.